Global Countdown Until A Certain Time In A Certain Timezone (Roblox Together At Home Event)

Hi! I would like to create a countdown like the Roblox Together At Home event but, I’m only a beginner and i’m not so sure. I also don’t want to use os.time() since it’s not for a certain timezone.

If anybody could please help?

2 Likes

os.time() can be used to get a time from a certain timezone

os.time() will return the time in UTC (source: Os.time returns what system time? - #20 by Tiffblocks)

so that means if your timezone is UTC+4, you add 4 hours to what os.time() gives

example,

local utcPlus4 = os.time() + (4 * 60 * 60)

You can use https://www.epochconverter.com/ to grab the Unix timestamp for whatever time and timezone you want to compare to, then the difference is just timestamp - os.time().

Divide by 60 for minutes, then by 24 for days, etc.

1 Like

May you please give an example?

Sure! There is also the built-in function os.date which can be given a time argument to save you having to do the division by 60 and 24 yourself.

Let’s take the example of a countdown to 20 April 2020, at 12:00 (midday) BST (my local timezone right now).

Using the website I linked to, I enter the time in my local format, and select Local time for the timezone:

The timestamp 1587380400 is provided as the Epoch timestamp. This is always in UTC/GMT in seconds since 1 January 1970, so this is technically 11:00 on the 20 April 2020 in UTC due to the timezone difference with daylight savings.

In your code you would then find the current timestamp (again, in UTC) and calculate the difference:

local TARGET_TIME = 1587380400 -- 12:00 on 20 April 2020 BST

RunService.Heartbeat:Connect( function()
    local diffSeconds = TARGET_TIME - os.time()
    local countdown = os.date( '!*t', diffSeconds ) -- The first argument is important to say we're working in UTC so no offsets get applied

-- here you would update a GUI or whatever it is you need to do