Global leaderboard with ProfileService?

I just switched the data system in my game to use ProfileService and I was wondering how I would use it for a global leaderboard, replacing what I had before using the default methods (:GetOrderedDataStore(), :GetSortedAsync(), :GetCurrentPage(), etc). I am new to ProfileService so my understanding isn’t great yet so if this is a dumb question I’m sorry.

Hey @R_alatch , did you end up figuring out how to use ProfileService for your global leaderboard?

I don’t know. Maybe he solved it

Hopefully he can share his solution.

Good tutorial to look at about it : Global Updates: ProfileService Tutorial Part 2 (Roblox Studio) - YouTube

1 Like

Thank you, I managed to work it out.

Sorry for the bump, but may I know how you solved it? I watched the video but couldn’t come to a solution.

Apologies for the late response, hopefully this is still useful to you.

First of all this is the leaderboard model containing the script I used when I figured out this particular solution. Global Leaderboard Explained - Roblox

What I did first was create an object data profile in my DataManager (the module that does stuff with ProfileService). I convert the players profile data table to an object data table using this module:

local Module = {}

Module.Types = {
	['boolean'] = 'BoolValue',
	['string'] = 'StringValue',
	['number'] = 'IntValue'
}

function Module.TableToObject(Tbl, Prnt, Nst)
	Nst = (Nst or 1)
	if Nst > 30 then return end
	for k,v in pairs(Tbl) do
		if typeof(v) == 'table' then
			local Fold = Instance.new('Folder')
			Fold.Name = tostring(k)
			Module.TableToObject(v, Fold, Nst + 1)
			Fold.Parent = Prnt
		else
			local val = Instance.new(Module.Types[typeof(v)] or Module.Types['string'])
			val.Name = tostring(k)
			val.Value = v
			val.Parent = Prnt
		end
	end
end

function Module.ObjectToTable(Prnt, Tbl)
	Tbl = Tbl or {}
	for _,val in pairs(Prnt:GetChildren()) do
		if val:IsA('Folder') then