Global Leaderstats Help

Hey,
Right now I have one data store that holds all the player’s stats in a single key. Since all the stats are saved into one table, I cannot use ordered data stores because the saved value needs to be a positive integer. Would I need to make multiple datastores and save the player’s high score in each one for this to work? I’m not too experienced with data stores so any help would be great.

1 Like

Honestly, what I’d do (and this is what I’m doing for an upcoming game) is keep your current system where it saves all your player’s stats in a single table under their key. Making a separate datastore for each of these is generally a bad idea and limits could easily be breached.

I would then create a separate ordered data store. Each player is given a unique key, and their high score is stored as an integer under this. I’d then update the player’s key every time their high score is raised. This way, you’re only using 2 datastores total per player.

I really hope I understood your situation properly and my answer is clear enough. It’s 10pm here so I’m feeling pretty tired – hopefully it didn’t affect my answer too much! If you have any follow-up questions, please let me know :slight_smile:

PS: nice videos!

I have 6 maps and I want each map to have their own leaderboard. Would 6 ordered datastores on top of the regular data store have the potential to exceed the limits?

You could save your players data in a sub table.

The wiki has a nice example of sub tables:

local playerData = {}
playerData["Inventory"] = {}
playerData["Inventory"][1] = "Sword"
playerData["Inventory"][2] = "Bow"
playerData["Inventory"][3] = "Rope"
playerData["Gold"] = 20
playerData["Experience"] = 500

Simplified is right. Just use sub tables.

1 Like