Good Coding Practices I - When You SHOULD Make a Comment in Your Code

Hello everyone, Boggarak here!

I’m currently a Software Engineering student, and there are some good pieces of programming advice I could give you that could not only help you with coding your games on Roblox, but also coding elsewhere. This will be a multi-part series that will cover coding advice that you ideally should start using when coding in Roblox, as it will definitely help you when working on your projects and help you become a better programmer.

The first topic I will cover are about comments. If you have programmed on Roblox before, you probably have known or at least seen what a comment is. For those who still don’t know, comments are lines in code that does absolutely nothing, and usually contain text. In Lua, comments are indicated using dashes -- ... and square brackets with dashes --[[ ... --]].

While they can be used for debugging (like disabling certain pieces of code in a given script), their real purpose is for readability, or the ease of understanding what a section of code does. Some programmers add a lot of comments, while some don’t even add any comments. However, the most important thing when writing a comment is when you should write a comment, and when you can get away with not writing one.

I will give you a list of instances of when you should write a comment (and instances where comments are not really preferable). For all of these instances, the key idea is that, if a given piece of code is easily readable, then the programmer should know in seconds what a given section of codes does, and doesn’t require mental gymnastics or a lot of deciphering to understand it.

With that said, here is a list of instances to consider when write a comment:

Writing Documentation Comments