Having a RemoteEvent that can only be fired via exploits? - Anti-exploit idea

Take into account that I’m new to game security.

So, I just had an idea about game security. What if I placed a RemoteEvent in ReplicatedStorage that could only be fired via an exploit on the client? I could give the RemoteEvent an enticing name like “GiveMoney”. Then I could log which player fired the remote. Obviously, I know not to leave any abusable remotes, but the exploiter wouldn’t know that. I think running sanity checks along with a system like this in place would be beneficial.

Although, I think punishing the exploiter right away would make it obvious that it was a trap. I think a better way of dishing out punishment would be something like this:

Log the exploiter > Actually reward the player in-game currency > Slowly break the game for them so it becomes unplayable

Though I do suspect that they’d catch on eventually. Maybe a system like this would be better implemented in a scoring type of system. Example, if a player randomly travels quickly across the map it could be due to an exploit or due to Roblox’s wacky physics. The player would then be logged as a potential exploiter and have one strike against them. Then if they received kills too quickly they’d have another strike against them. And lastly, if they fired the fake remote you’d be for certain that they’re an exploiter.

I’m curious if this would be a viable tacit. I’ve never seen anyone talk about this before; I’m eager to hear everyone’s thoughts.

2 Likes

I always add bait remotes to my game as lure for noob exploiters. It never makes a huge difference, but it is always nice to see someone fall for it.

4 Likes