Having issues with making Humanoid.Sit

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to scripting and am having a bit of trouble with what I am trying to do. I attempted to make a button that will make the player who clicks it, sit down. The player will go flying down a pile of stairs. :laughing: Here is my script:

local button = script.Parent
local plr = game.Workspace:FindFirstChild(“Humanoid”)

button.MouseButton1Down:Connect(function(trip)
if trip then
plr.Sit = true
end
end)

When I press the button to trigger this script, it pops up in the output with “attempt to index nil with ‘Sit’”.
Not really sure what to do…

Is the button a ClickDetector?

It is not in fact. Just a regular GUI textbutton.

Oh. I did not know that. What is the easiest way to get a Humanoid to sit by pressing a GUI button?

You aren’t getting the player’s humanoid. You are only looking for a humanoid inside the workspace. If this is a GUI, you need to get the player’s character by doing this:

local LocalPlayer = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local character = LocalPlayer.Character
local Humanoid  = character:WaitForChild("Humanoid")
1 Like

The Sit property of the humanoid can be toggled to true or false. It doesn’t say that it’s read-only.

What you are doing is correct, it’s just that you aren’t getting the player’s character and the player’s humanoid properly.

1 Like

Nevermind just noticed i was wrong your getting the humanoid incorrectly instead do this:

local button = script.Parent
local plr = game.Players.LocalPlayer

Button.MouseButton1Down:Connect(function()
      local Character = plr.Character or plr.CharacterAdded:Wait()
      local Humanoid = Character and Character:FindFirstChild("Humanoid")
      Humanoid.Sit = true
end)
1 Like

Ohhhh this makes a LOT more sense! Thank you so much, I really appreciate your time. My script successfully ran how I needed it to. :smiley:

1 Like

Use my method @Quwanterz will not work if the character dies or resets.