Heavy Sword Animation

Hello! This is a little part of a project I’m working on, I have no experience whatsoever making animations for big weapons like this one so I would really appreciate feedback!
Do note that the weapons itself is not mine, everything else including the cel shading is made by me. Cel shading and the clothing is also something I’m currently experimenting with, don’t judge it too hard xd
https://gyazo.com/eaabc4c7a0a5495f58d0eaad8236c166
https://gyazo.com/863e4249bc49b624fad276a2ab33b847
This is a different angle where you can see I didn’t ignore the swords collisions :ok_hand:

I did have to ignore the hat collision though .-.

Link in case of failure to load: https://gyazo.com/eaabc4c7a0a5495f58d0eaad8236c166

Cool little thumbnail x)

shineh

11 Likes

It looks really nice and clean!

Quick question though, how do you accomplish Cel Shading? I’m thinking about using it in games in the near future, so I’m just relatively curious haha

1 Like

In the current version of blender, simply select the object, go to the modeling tab. Then press A to make sure all the vertices are selected. From there hit Shift + N and a small window will pop up on the bottom left of the window labeled “Recalculate Normals”. Click the arrow next to it and a drop down menu will appear, the only option should be “Inside”, you want to click that so that a check appears telling you it’s enabled. There’s 2 ways you can approach this. The first is to do the steps I’ve listed then export the mesh, you then import the mesh to roblox, color it as you’d like, set the material, then resize accordingly. The second way is to import the object into blender, duplicate it, resize it to overlay the object, then you follow the steps for the overlaying part, just not that you will have to recolor it in blender as well. I did it the first way but from what I’ve heard, it’s better to do it the second way. Thank you for your feedback and I hope this helps! :+1:

6 Likes