Help - ‘Basic’ looting system

Hey! I’ve been working on a survival game for the past year, though I’m completely new to scripting and have a question related to creating a loot system.

What do I want to achieve?

• Basic / Simplistic, yet useful looting system think of something like Apocalypse Rising 1 or Deadmist 2 loot systems.

Node Example

a loot system that uses ‘nods’ that can spawn specific loot items (ex. a purple node spawns an item from a medical category / list and a red node spawns weapons, check “image 1” for reference). I want to make it so that these nods can be placed wherever I want a specific item category to spawn. Once clicked on a spawned item, the item should disappear from the ground and should be moved into a players inventory. After a certain amount of time (ex. 50 minutes), all items should respawn a random item from the specific category

What’s the issue?

Due to me not knowing how to script yet, I don’t really know how to create a loot system. I’ve tried finding tutorials / help on YouTube and the DevForum, but simply could not find anything that I wanted or that was helpful to a degree where I am able to create my own looting system, hence why I went to ask for help on the DevForum myself.

So my question: Does anybody have any sites (that may be useful), tutorials or perhaps advice from their own experience(s) on how I can create the loot system I have in mind?

Note: I do not need / want systems made by others (ex. free models), I just need some form of tutorial / help so I can have a basic understanding of how loot systems / scripting them works.

(Additional) Contact Information:

• Dizzy: Fred.#7638

Thanks in advance,

Cheers,

Fred

1 Like

can you give us the script :confused: so I can help you easier

This is something that would most likely be called a “Tool spawner”, “Respawning tool” or similar.