Help on building

Hello Developers!

I am quite new to this DevForum and I need your help!
I want to make a Battle Royale game but I need help with the buildings!
Please give me tips as I am out of ideas.

Thanks for reading!:smiley:

1 Like

Please be a little more specific next time, as “the buildings” isn’t very easy to decode.
What kind of buildings are you talking about?
Detailed? Low detail? Realistic? Modern? Futuristic? Old? There’s many different takes here.

However, I will provide some tips I do know in general.
Create Templates! You will not believe how much stress it saves you. If you create a few templates, it will help you. If you don’t like the idea of having multiple buildings that look the same, small changes here and there wouldn’t hurt.
Be aware of low-end users. A lot of games I see sometimes do not get many players because of the lag they give for lower performing users. Realism is cool if you do it right, but sometimes less parts can be good. This puts us at the next one,
Careful of cutting corners. You can avoid certain things and details pretty easily if you try. Instead of making more buildings, create a skybox with some buildings in the background. Do be careful though, if you do this the wrong way, it can look bad.
Finally,
Make sure to stay inspired. Motivation is very important when making games, but inspiration may be even better. Inspiration from games can give you an idea of what you want things to look like. Of course, don’t copy them, but sometimes having some examples of certain models may help.

2 Likes

Can you be more specific on what type of builds you’re intending to?

Well to begin you need a few things.

You’ll need GUI’s, for the play button, shop etc.

You’ll need a realistic lobby and map with terrain and I suggest buildings with interiors to find guns and some low poly.

Making a game like this will require scripting, UI, audio and much more so I would keep that in mind.