Help using :Move() with gui button

I have a Text gui when pressed it’s suppose to move the player, here’s the script(LocalScript in TextButton):

local function onTouchTap()
	local RL = game.ReplicatedStorage:WaitForChild("Players"):WaitForChild("MobileLeft")
	game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character:WaitForChild("Humanoid"):Move(Vector3.new(0, 0, -1), true)
end
local function Released()
	game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character:WaitForChild("Humanoid"):Move(Vector3.new(0, 0, -1), false)
end
script.Parent.MouseButton1Down:Connect(onTouchTap)
script.Parent.MouseButton1Up:Connect(Released)

Untitled design
(Sorry I’m new with scripting)

2 Likes

You must use RemoteEvents for this. From my understanding, I don’t think you can move players from the Client since other players are unable to view it. Simply make a RemoteEvent and fire it whenever a button is pressed, then move the player from the Server.

1 Like

It works but for some reason if I hold the gui down the player only moves less than a second:
Untitled design(1)
ServerScript in serverScriptService:

local ML = game.ReplicatedStorage.Players.MLeft
ML.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(Player)
Player.Character:WaitForChild("Humanoid"):Move(Vector3.new(0, 0, -1), true)
end)
local MR = game.ReplicatedStorage.Players.MLeft.RemoteEvent
MR.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(Player)
print("Released")
Player.Character:WaitForChild("Humanoid"):Move(Vector3.new(0, 0, -1), false)
end)
1 Like

You are going to have to hook the click event more than once, or bind to UserInputService and control the event more rigorously, i.e. when the click begins, as it continues, and when it ends, and continually fire RemoteEvents to fire the movement to happen (probably over some granulated time-scale).

1 Like

If it’s a normal player and not anchored by the server, you can move from the client. That’s exactly how normal roblox movement works. It’s client authoritative.

1 Like

Sorry I forgot to mention, I’m making it for mobile users

1 Like