Help with a bike and constraints

Since the gear items don’t work particularly well with R15 I thought I’d have a go at making my own bike.

To do this, I’ve converted the motorcycle item into a bike using the bike gear…

This is my current result:

As you can see, the front wheel offset is a tad bit off. So you might be like, “but ben, why not just move the fake-wheel back”. Well you see, when I attempted that…

https://i.gyazo.com/a0998cd8e3f3b45202d8f0bc5f817d81.mp4

… we ended up with an interesting looking bike.

My question is, how can I align the front wheel correctly whilst maintaining a normal functioning bike?

Here’s the place file if you’d like to experiment around with it bike creation place.rbxl (70.1 KB)

Physics and constraints are not quite my forte so all the help available is much appreciated.

1 Like

Have you tried changing the place where it is rotating? I’m not experienced in Studio or anything. But surely there would be a to move it to where you want it to be?

I had a shot at shifting all the parts connected to the front wheel then re-attaching their welds, however the bike would fall apart after doing so for reasons I can’t work out.

There wouldn’t be a way to anchor the wheel, then somehow make the object go along with the bike as well, would there?

I considered something like that, however the wheel also needs to spin. Doing that would result in a working back-wheel but a static front-wheel.

1 Like

Maybe there could be a way to make the front be animated to go forward (and backward, when reversing). When the player and controlling the bike.

Hello,

I’m obviously late to the game, but for the sake of this article (and future people reading this) I would like to present an answer.