Help with general animation flow and having issues w/ animation priorities

Hello all!

I’m an amateur animator and game designer who is trying to figure out a solution to the general animation and animation flow issues I’ve been having while trying to assist the game team

The Issue

While I’m not exactly sure what the issue is, I’ve been having problems with animations that are only supposed to move one part move the entire body/freeze the entire body, as if its its own animation overriding the other.

• (Ex. below, a throwing animation of mine, made of blender with an r6 rig, plays on click when the banana is thrown. However, since the throwing animation was intended to only move the character’s center and arm, it instead freezes the entire body and completely cancels out said walking animation. I will note that the character is stopped while throwing for a reason, but that is a scripting matter that does not apply to this post. Said stopping of motion, even removed, will stop the walking animation.)

Observe how when the banana is thrown, the walking animation stops in favor of said throwing animation. I want the throwing animation to only override the arm during the walking animation.

I am confused on whether this is a rig issue, an animation priority issue, or just an issue with general animation flow. I have already tried to mess around with animation priorities, but because that animation is exported as its own, it doesn’t make a difference which one I choose, from what I’ve observed.

How can I get my animations to possibly only move the parts that I want them to without stopping the entire character?

1 Like

If you’re importing the animations from Blender to Editor, I’d recommend to:

1. Delete all frames except the ones prioritised (in this case, the arms and the torso).

2. Once animation has been imported, go to editor and ensure that the frames are deleted. When importing I’ve found more often than not, that all the parts have frames.