Help with getting closest enemy

Hey, so I have a table of enemies, and I want to sort the table, so I have the closest enemy at the top, all the way down to the farthest enemy at the bottom., How would I do this? I am a noob at tables and dictonaries, so I would like someone to point me in the right direction.

I am a noob at tables and dictionaries…

No problem. I don’t know why, but, unlike other coding languages, sorting arrays wasn’t one of the first things I learned in Luau.

Anyway, since you want to sort a table, you can use a built-in table function: table.sort(). The first parameter is the table you want to sort, and the second parameter is a callback function that requires two arguments (a and b, which represents two elements in the array that will be compared) and will return a boolean value for every a and b that will determine if b is placed in front of a, or if the two elements’ orders will stay the same.

If the function returns true, a will be placed before b (b would be placed after a); if false gets returned, the elements won’t be repositioned.

For sorting the values from least to greatest, you can just call the table.sort() function on a table (table.sort(array)). Using the default callback function with an array of numbers is the same as the following callback function:

local numbers = {8, 1, 2, 6}

table.sort(numbers, function(a, b)
    -- If `a` was 2 and `b` was 8, this would return true.
    -- So, `b` would be placed in front of `a`.
    return a < b
end)

As I stated above, though, you can just type this:

table.sort(numbers)

You can sort from greatest to least by returning a > b instead (which would require a custom callback).

To compare the axes of Vector3s, your callback would look something like this:

-- This example also displays using properties of `a` and `b`.
table.sort(positions, function(a, b)
    return x.Y < b.Y -- Compares Y axes; sorts from least to greatest.
end)