Help with GFX effects

Hey, I know I might be asking for a lot here, but does anyone think they can teach me a bit on how to improve my editing when it comes to GFX’s? I’m relatively new to GFX’s, and the effects on mine either look bland, are just stocks, or are just bad. If anyone could help me in anyway possible, by either linking some good tutorials or even teaching me themselves or anything like that, I would really appreciate it.

Here are some of my work

(I know a lot of them aren’t ones that use a lot of effects but these are probably my best work)

Thanks for reading, and have a good day.

5 Likes

can you give us examples of your work so we know what you need improvement on/

1 Like

Hi! When I make my GFX’s I used Blender!

I render with Cycles Blender which allows you to use HDRI’s for the lighting and it really makes the models you’re rendering look nice (depending on which you use). There’s a lot of things you can do while rendering in blender to create an effect (like adding an emission shader to something you want to glow). I’m not sure if you use Blender or Cinema4d to render so not sure if what I said was helpful??

If you meant effects like while you’re editing the render itself in photoshop or something you can always use lense flares? It really varies from what kind of GFX’s you are making. For an example the ones in which you have a sword for an example, placing a image of a lightning bolt with a black background over it and changing the opacity while messing with the other settings can make a really cool effect. I’m not a pro though so everything I said was just stuff I do

I edited it with some of my work in it.

Thanks, I’ll definitely use the black background thing you were talking about. Know where I can find a bunch?

OT: Lighting and how the objects in the scene work together is key. The third image with the masked dude is really damn good with the effects.

The third image, is the background objects, or a background picture?