Help with logic behind a third person gun/tool script using raycasting

I’m having some issues figuring out the logic behind doing a third person gun script/tool. While I am new to scripting, it’s not an issue with code it’s more so that I don’t know how to figure out the logic behind what I am looking for.

I’m aiming to create a third person shooting system similar to Fortnite(Can’t think of any other good example for now). I want the mouse to be locked at the center of the screen and your character would rotate as you moved your mouse left-right and you could aim up-down obviously. Shooting would trigger a Remote Event on the server side where it would check which way you’re aiming and then cast a ray in that direction.

Now here is where my logic fails me.
My first idea is to shoot the ray from where the mouse/crosshair is located in the direction the player is facing. However how would I determine that direction exactly is beyond me:

• I can find where the Mouse.Origin is on client and forward that to the server. That gives me the position from which I am casting my ray.

• Simply using the rotation of the Humanoid would only give me horizontal rotation. So that isn’t going to work.

• What seems the most promising to me: I could use Mouse.UnitRay and then figure out which way the player is facing by using the direction/angle of that ray and just cast a ray going from the mouse in the same direction? Here is a bad drawing to explain what I am thinking of :blush: rayIMG
    I don’t know how exactly I would go about doing the math behind that though.

• Perhaps I’m making it too complicated or trying to re-invent something that has a much simpler method.