Help with MouseEnter

Hi! I am having trouble making a computer mouse maze (a game where you try to get your mouse through without touching the walls.) I have a blank TextButton as the walls and use the MouseEnter event in my script. Since i will have multiple walls in the game I need help to find all the TextButtons in a script. So far i have this:

for i, v in pairs (game.StarterGui:GetDescendants()) do
	while true do
		wait()
		v.Name.MouseEnter:Connect(function()
			if v.Name == "Border" then
				print("Worked")
			end
		end)
	end
end

I am a beginner at scripting so i might be missing something obvious.

Hello everyone.
Where is the While true do taking play? For me, I wouldn’t recommend using it here, and also because you need to trigger a mouse entering the gui.
Instead I’ll go for:

v.Name.MouseEnter:Connect(function()
      print("Sus")
   end
end

Also make sure that this code is in a local script and referencing the gui that you’re trying to read.

I’m pretty sure he is only showing part of his code, he would need it to identify it at an interval

I do agree it should be set up differently though.

1 Like

Sorry, it doesn’t work and it comes back with a error:

Players.ZackDaQuackYT.PlayerGui.ScreenGui.Frame.Scripts.CoreScript:2: attempt to index nil with ‘Connect’ - Client - CoreScript:2

It is indexing “v.Name.MouseEnter” as a nil because it is grabbing the name of v, if “Name” is a part in the UI please rename it.

I am showing all of it. I am only trying to get it to print something for now. The problem is that there will be like 50 borders and i don’t want to create a function for every one.

Wait, you’re writing this in a core script? Oh boy.

Maybe try write a different empty local script inserted from the explorer, into the GUI, and then reference the GUI in the code.

Also, can we see your explorer menu, maybe something is going on there.

no… he named his script “CoreScript”

1 Like

The name of the UI is Border there shouldn’t be a problem