Help with Overhead GUI in regards to buying titles in game?

I’m relatively new to Overhead Gui so I’ve been looking up the basics via the devforum and some youtube videos. The only problem I have encountered is that a majority of the information on it is mainly in regards to Ranks or Group Overhead Guis. Whereas, for what I am trying to accomplish, is completely different. Basically, I’m in the process of making a shop menu and the overhead guis are going to be titles that people can buy in my game and buy/equip whenever they please. I am just unsure entirely how to accomplish that. If anyone can steer me in the right direction via a forum post, roblox database, a youtube tutorial or any other sort of information, then that would be helpful! :slight_smile:

An example would be something like this:
Screenshot 2023-04-18 195234

2 Likes

You would need to use DataStoreService so that the game knows the player already bought it before.

Or you can give the player a badge everytime a player buys a title, and then check for that badge when the player joins. Although, that is not really a good idea and you will probably need to learn DataStoreService anyways since they are necessary in pretty much every game

1 Like

Fairly simple, there are many ways of doing this, one of which could be the following:

1. Detect when a Player has joined the game and give them a BillboardGUI in their Head:
game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(plr)
	plr.CharacterAdded:Connect(function(char)

local Billboard = Instance.new("BillboardGui")
		Billboard.Parent = char.Head

end)
end)
  1. Size and Offset the billboard UI:

Billboard.Size = UDim2.fromScale(5,1) -- Step 2
		Billboard.StudsOffset = Vector3.new(0,3,0)

end)
end)
  1. Add a text label and size it:

Billboard.Size = UDim2.fromScale(5,1)

local TextLabel = Instance.new("TextLabel") -- Step 3
		TextLabel.Parent = Billboard
		TextLabel.Size = UDim2.fromScale(1,1)

end)
end)
  1. Add some property changes to your liking: