Help/insight/tips needed for building a real life airport

Hello there! I’ve started working on a building project aimed at recreating Quebec Jean Lesage Intl. Airport in Canada, but I am having issues getting the foundations covered. I have tried different techniques, but I’m not really satisfied with any of them. Here’s a rundown of what happened with each of the techniques.

Before we begin, please note:

• Proportions used: 1 ft = 1 stud
  • No Blender, please. I’m not experienced in it or interested in modelling in it right now.
  • These are heavy WIP and not all necessary details are present.
**Chapter 1: Manual measurements ft. Google Maps**

With this technique, I basically measured everything on Google Maps, using their “Measure distance” tool and then tried to recreate those measurements in Studio, without a direct visual reference in Studio itself.

For example, when building runway 06/24, I measured its length and width, then recreated the runway using those exact measurements. Since the measurements turned out to be approx. 9000 ft x 195 ft, I made the runway 9000 studs x 195 studs.

Problems:

• Although it’s, in theory, very accurate, since I don’t really have a visual aid, I have to do a lot of guesswork + trial and error. Plus, the small inaccuracies I get by not having a reference grow with each part I add. In the end, I end up with a wonky result with parts of the build not fitting properly.
  • This technique is downright impossible to use with complex and curved shapes. How are you supposed to measure curved outlines with what is essentially a ruler?

Here’s how I far I got with the technique.

**Chapter 2: Section-by-section image reference ft. Google Maps**

With this technique, I started by taking screenshots of the area I wanted to build, bit by bit. Then, I imported these screenshots into Studio and started aligning them with each other and with what’s already built.