How can i become a 'better' scripter?

So I have been scripting for almost four years now, and I’m pretty decent at it. But I want to improve and get better, but how? Should I just learn every API that I don’t know or something?

6 Likes

Practice, Practice and Practice, also learn the API too. I’m not good either but that’s how I got better.

7 Likes

Just practice and read api documentation.

3 Likes

I’m not a scripter, but the best way to become one is practice! Practice always makes perfect! Also, read the API documentation. Hope this helps!

4 Likes

other than practice, try experimenting with pure lua or other new concepts that may be foreign to intermediate or even advanced scripters, try researching about new things like

1. garbage collection (not available in roblox lua)

2. metatables (add logic for 2 tables being added together in the __add function, handle comparisons with __eq, __lt, __gt, etc)

3. roblox’s luau interpreter, you can do things like static typing with it

4. object oriented programming (OOP)

5. manipulation of the stack (_G, setenv, getenv, setfenv)

6. creating complicated objects you may not even use in your game, snake blocks are a fun challenge

8 Likes

Oh, sound interesting i’ll have a look!

You really would never need to know any of (1,2,3(maybe),5) You would probably never use them in roblox scripting. Also if you want to become a better scripter learn more complex scripting languages they will help you better comprehend code.

1 Like

This question has been asked many times, please use the search bar before making a post.

Well it is a genuine question. A lot of people ask this and most people won’t answer old ones also they could be outdated as well. Also many people ask repeated questions. A lot of people are still willing to answer them so there really isn’t that much of a problem of this question being asked.

1 Like