How can I improve my shop system?

(I’m new to the devforum, sorry if my first post is horrible)

I’ve been working on this shop system recently and I would really like to see if my code could be improved.

-- BuyItem
-- Description: Checks if the Player has the actual currency(server checks)

-- Services
local ReplicatedStorage = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage")

-- Remotes
local PromptPurchase = ReplicatedStorage.PromptPurchase

-- Items

-- I could make Items a module in ServerStorage
local Items = {Potion = 100}

local function OnServerEvent(Player, ItemName)
	local Stats = Player:WaitForChild("leaderstats")
	local Gold = Stats:WaitForChild("Gold")

if not Items[ItemName] then 
		Player:Kick("Stop exploiting") 
		return 
	end

local Price = Items[ItemName] 

print(Gold.Value,":",Price)
	if Gold.Value >= Price then
		Gold.Value = Gold.Value - Price
		-- Obtain item
	else
		-- Could not obtain item
	end
end

PromptPurchase.OnServerEvent:Connect(OnServerEvent)
----------------------------------------------------

-- ShopOpen
-- Description: Client-Sided part of the shop system

local Players = game:GetService("Players")

local ShopGui = ReplicatedStorage.Shop

local OpenShop = ReplicatedStorage.OpenShop

local Player = Players.LocalPlayer

local PlayerGui = Player:WaitForChild("PlayerGui")

local function OnClientEvent()

if PlayerGui:FindFirstChild("Shop") then return end

local NewShopGui = ShopGui:Clone()

NewShopGui.Parent = PlayerGui
end

OpenShop.OnClientEvent:Connect(OnClientEvent)
7 Likes

It’s not a good idea to kick players who you believe to be cheating in a situation like this, and assume it’s just an oversight in your code (not their innocence). If an item of ItemName doesn’t exist, I recommend just returning from the function and leaving the player alone.

Other than that, I see no issues.

10 Likes

Looks cool! I hope this works well for you - I see no discernible errors besides the one that Dandystan mentioned.

1 Like