How can I make my character respawn where I die? (for anyone playing)

Hi! My name is Twisted, I’m making a little introduction about myself since this is my first topic post ever! I’m really excited to ask you guys questions and tell you everything I’ve tried and have done. A few welcomes would be very appreciated! :two_hearts: Anyway… let’s get to the point.

I’m currently making a running game, but I’m not sure how to make my character respawn where I died. I’m new to scripting so I don’t know too much about things that are simple but I’m learning and getting better each day. So a bit of help where I could find where to do it or a script so I can visualize how to do it would be very helpful!

I haven’t attempted to make this since I couldn’t find a source to learn/see how to do it.

5 Likes

No, you didn’t read it correctly. I want my character to respawn where I die. I don’t want to die and respawn back to the start.

For example:
If I’m running away from the spawn point and I hit something that kills me. Then when I respawn, I respawn where I died.

Oops i misread, i thought you said when.

You want to save the position they died at, with humanoid.Died, and then wait 5 seconds for them to respawn

character.Humanoid.Died:Connect(function()
    local last_cf = character:GetPrimaryPartCFrame()
    wait(5)
    character:SetPrimaryPartCFrame(last_cf)
end)
1 Like

It’s underlining in orange under every “character” word. Is there a solution to this?

That was meant to ben pseudocode, not a fully working script. you seem to be new to scripting I encourage you learn basics like variables and the data types of Lua before making a project.

I said that, but thanks for the info!

edit: Do you know any sources that helped you learn variables and data types? I have some, but if you have any suggestions I would like to know them.

Here’s how I would do it,

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(Player)
-- This function will run whenever someone new joins the game.