How can I make my GUI's look the same on every platform?

I have a GUI in my game but on other platforms size and position is all messed up and I don’t know how to change that. Is there a plugin I could use or something?

3 Likes

Try using scale instead of offset for positioning and sizing. Scale is based on the percentage of the screen, but in decimal form. If you are unsure of what I mean, check out this article.

4 Likes

I’m not that good at scripting. How do I get the size of their screen and automatically re scale it?

1 Like

Scaling can be set without scripting. If you set the first and third numbers of the size property of a UI element (like {here, 0, here, 0}), that will automatically scale it based on the size of the screen. For example, {0.5, 0, 0.5, 0} will make the element be 50% the width and height of the user’s screen. {1, 0, 1, 0} will be the entire screen.

To answer your question, there is a way to get the size of a user’s screen by inserting this in a local script:

local player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local mouse = player:GetMouse()
local sizeX, sizeY = mouse.ViewSizeX, mouse.ViewSizeY --returns the number in pixels of the user's screen width and height

However, I really do suggest using scale instead of having to go through the hassle of manually re scaling everything based on the size of the screen.

2 Likes

Setting the scale instead of offset will do that without the need of scripts, it’s built into the Roblox engine. When you set the Size property, instead of doing { 0, 256, 0, 256 } for example, you set it to { 1, 0, 1, 0 }.
This also applies to the Position property.

The first number is the X scale (width), which means how wide it’ll be compared to it’s parent. 1 = 100%, 0 = 0%, 0.5 = 50%, etc. The second number is the same on the Y axis (height).

3 Likes