How can I make this forest map more interesting?

I’m quite new to roblox development and I want to know how to make this map more interesting.

current version:

old:

12 Likes

Roblox terrain would fit the borders more, change the terrain colors, water colors, and trees to make it look better.

4 Likes

how do I change the colours of the terrain

You can manage the terrain colors inside the terrain section in the workspace.

2 Likes

Definitely need more tree size/color/shape variation. The best forest scenery in games use at least 3-5 different variations. Looks good though, keep up the good work!

5 Likes

this better?

1 Like

A little bit of lighting would be better (Atmosphere and Clouds)

You can check this article: Post-Processing Effects | Roblox Creator Documentation :+1:

2 Likes

I’d say that you should add boulders and different sizes in trees and probably add more variant and colors to the rock borders.

4 Likes

this good? (I was experimenting with the effects before but had them in server storage temporarily)

3 Likes

Yes, over there I see that the environment feels a little different like the 1st image

2 Likes

Are these colours good?

4 Likes

Yep I think the variation does a lot. If you walk into a forest no two trees will look the same.

1 Like

I’ll offer a little bit different advice: forests can’t grow grass. You have grass by the trees but not in the clearing. It would actually be the opposite. Too much shade attracts ferns and other plants.

Add rocks, moss, and dirt, and it will feel a lot more foresty!

4 Likes

Change the variation of the trees, make smaller ones, bigger ones, different angles, etc. There’s a plugin specifically designed for variation that you can use too:
Plugin: Brushtool 2.1 - Roblox
Documentation: Brushtool 2.0 Plugin: Clone and place models onto your map with ease