How could I creat a random generated cave system? (NOT INF)

I would like to create a large chunk of blank stone, with a cave system inside of it. I’ve heard about using Perlin noise, but I have no idea where to start, and how to break that down into code. Its gonna be a system like minecraft, but only underground without going above ground. I only need it around a 500,200,500 stud scale. Thank you for any responses or feedback! Also please demonstrate like im 5 because im very new to this and I don’t understand it :confused:

also heres a script generation that i borrowed from Realistic Cave Generation. it generates terrain on the ground, but not underground. also put this in a “script” in server script service and add a part of any scale to workspace.

p.Anchored = true; 

local folder = Instance.new'Folder'; 
folder.Parent = workspace;
folder.Name = 'Parts'; 

local f = 67
local coeff = 450; 

function calc(x,z,o)
	local height = 0; 
	local r = math.random(8,8*2);
	for i = 1, r do
		height = height + math.noise(x/(coeff/i)+o,z/(coeff/i)+o); 
	end
	height = height/r; 
	return height; 
end

for i = 1, 450 do
	for j = 1, 450 do
		local new = p:Clone(); 
		new.Parent = folder; 
		new.Position = Vector3.new(i*new.Size.x, 0+coeff*calc(i,j,f), j*new.Size.z); 
	end
end

game.Debris:AddItem(p,0);
3 Likes

The thread you linked doesn’t have that code soooo don’t know what that’s about. Anyway:

Perlin worms can really complicate a chunk-based infinite terrain generator, but since you don’t care about infinite terrain then they’re an okay solution. One alternative is certain noise functions that can be tuned to spit out similar caves. For starters though, just get down the basics of generating 3D terrain.

This video is pretty great: Minecraft terrain generation in a nutshell - YouTube

Here’s a minimal starter example:

local size = Vector3.new(100, 100, 100)
local scale = script.Block.Size.X

local threshold = 0
local seed = Random.new():NextInteger(0, 10e6)