How Do I Add Projectiles To Weapons?

Hello!

I have a gun that works perfectly fine; it shoots and it uses raycasting so that if the ray comes in contact with a player, it damages them.

The problem is that I’m very new to raycasting and I don’t fully understand how to use it/ how it works and I would like to make it so that a bullet is rapidly fired. Here is my script containing the raycasting:

script.Parent.Fire.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(player, mousePosition)
	local Damage = script.Parent.Parent.Values.Damage -- How much damage the weapon does
	local FiredSound = script.Parent.Parent.Pistol.Pistol.Fired -- The sound that is played when fired

local Handle = script.Parent.Parent.Handle -- Handle of the weapon (Where the bullet should ideally start)

-- Play FireSound to all players in a 115 stud radius
	for Number, Value in pairs(game.Players:GetChildren()) do
		local magnitude = math.abs((Handle.Position - Value.Character.HumanoidRootPart.Position).Magnitude)

if magnitude <= 115 then
			FiredSound:Play()
		end
	end

-- Raycasting stuff
	local raycastParams = RaycastParams.new()
	raycastParams.FilterDescendantsInstances = {player.Character}
	raycastParams.FilterType = Enum.RaycastFilterType.Blacklist

local raycastResult = workspace:Raycast(Handle.Position, (mousePosition - Handle.Position)*100, raycastParams)

if raycastParams then
		if raycastResult then
			local hitPart = raycastResult.Instance
			local model = hitPart:FindFirstAncestorOfClass("Model")

if model then
				if model:FindFirstChild("Humanoid") then
					model.Humanoid.Health -= Damage.Value
				end
			end
		end
	end
end)

Any help is appreciated, thank you in advance!! :smiley:

1 Like

Are you trying to make ‘projectiles’ (bullets) or are you trying to make the gun capable of rapid firing?

Yes I am trying to make bullets/ projectiles. :laughing: