How do I become more realistic at building?

Hey everyone so I’ve been a DevForum builder for over 2 years now. But I’ve never real gone for realism I’ve mainly just done like cartoony/low-poly. I’m looking for a way I can make my builds more realistic such as the once’s by @TrustMeImRussian below. I’ve tried making stuff like this by overlapping materials but it just seems very half done and lag inducing. If you have any suggestions people let me know thanks from John.

20 Likes

Are those your builds or examples of what you want to learn?

2 Likes

Those also look re-rendered in Blender.

2 Likes

What I want to learn lol no they’re by Russian. I can do something similar but just seems in practical

2 Likes

Is there a way I can accomplish that in studio? I was thinking maybe using like viewport to create a reflection effect with a custom texture cause I don’t think Roblox textures work with it due to the fact we don’t have the asset ID just by clicking the button.

2 Likes

If you look closely, you can see that almost everything in the photos doesn’t use a roblox texture. Most realistic builds use texture outside of roblox.

5 Likes

I’m not exactly sure if you can with custom texture but i know for sure you can not with the Roblox Studios stuff as of right now. Reflection only reflect the sky.

3 Likes

Yeah ok but how does he make like reflections and bumps and simple but realistic effects. As I said I was thinking about using viewport and a custom texture.

2 Likes

Talk to me on Dms Via Discord.

3 Likes

The first two examples have a good emphasis on lighting. Attention to that area of things can really bring a build to life, and make it seem far more realistic.

In the case of the last screenshot, the reflection is created by mirroring the walls and ceiling beneath a transparent floor.

A few other things to note -