How do I begin doing commissions?

Hi, I’ve been developing for several years now and I feel that my building skills, in particular, have advanced to the point where I’m ready to start selling builds as commissions. The only issue is that I don’t have any reputation in the development world, and I don’t have a portfolio of any kind. How would someone like me start doing commissions?

If this is off topic then tell me where else to post it because I thought this was the most well-sutied category for this.

28 Likes

You should start off by creating a portfolio and posting it in the collaboration section. After you do that you’ll probably start receiving friend requests with offers and then you should pick the one that most interests you. If they offer revenue percent you gotta make sure they have a plan for their game to ensure there’s any hope for it succeeding but if they offer a solid payment like USD or Robux then you should send them updates continuously while you work on it and when it’s completed ask for payment before sending and when they pay you send it to them.

If the person who hires you annoys or harasses you then you should not feel pressured into keep working for them. You as an individual matter more than you as a developer or worker.

One more thing, be wary of scammers. There’s not a lot of protection for developers against scammers so the only thing you can do is exercise common sense when dealing with people.

Hope this helps you and good luck with your career! If you have any questions just hit me up on Discord; you can find it on my profile.

33 Likes

This definitely helped. Thanks! Do you recommend I make a place for a portfolio or an image with pictures of them?

5 Likes

You should put images in your portfolio since it’d be faster for people to decide whether or not you meet their qualifications.

5 Likes

I see. I’ll get to work on that.

2 Likes