How Do I Correctly Texture Paint A Model From Studio In Blender

I made a model for a character outfit in Blender, and now I’m simply having trouble texturing it.
I’m fairly new to texturing, but I’ve used what knowledge I have gained to get to work on it.

One piece of information that I’ll mention that may be important is that the model I have to texture is exported from Studio, and then imported into Blender. I have to do this because the file which contains this version of the outfit is lost.

Here’s what I’ve been doing so far.

As you can see, the texture does not display on the model correctly, and the only signals of the light grey paint that I was using that I see are the dots near the elbows, gloves, back of the knees, and the boots which you can see in the last picture above. Note I get the same result whether I use the default texture property of a the mesh part, or if I use a Surface Appearance and change the color map property of that.

Now, I ask for the support of those who use blender and have experience with texturing in it. My question is how do I properly texture this model? Again, keep in mind that I don’t have access to the original blender file, and that it needs to be imported from Roblox Studio.

Thank you in advance for your help provided.

2 Likes

If you haven’t yet, reimport the model from Blender as an obj file, as that’s the model you’ve unwrapped to texture, and then add the material to that.

If your going for a base color texture, your best bet is to import a color pallet into blender and drag those UV islands to their according color. To import a color pallet, firstly make a image file that contains all your colors. Than to import you go

IN BLENDER go to the shading tab, → Add → Image Texture → place that anywhere on the material space. Click and drag color of the image texture to the base color of your Principled BSDF and open you image in the image texture.