How do I do these tricks in Blender? (Read to understand)

Okay, so I genuinely thought I was a good GFX artist until I saw this pop up on twitter…

All rights and credits goes to @i5k (Click here for his twitter)

So basically, I’m wondering how he does this. Is it photoshop or blender.

I highlighted all the “How does he do the lighting/effects?” in Blue
I highlighted all the “How does he get their reflectance?” In Red
I highlighted all the “How does he make it 3D?” in Green

Also, how do I apply a rig to all types of packages?

I don’t understand and I’ve been trying to play around with blender but it doesn’t come out like this. :man_shrugging:

Is it something to do with the node editor?

Also, if i5k see’s this, please tell me what render engine you use. :pleading_face:

I’m just seeking for help on how to do these edits in blender/photoshop.

I’ll never class myself good until I’m able to do something along those lines.

9 Likes

Hello, I think the artist has managed to either create these effects in blender using universal lighting or they have edited the image on an editing software. I believe that @i5k uses cinema 4D to create their renders, hope I could help a bit.

These all can be accomplished via nodes and/or lighting in Blender.

The backlight effect (if that’s the technical term? I’m not a photographer) is likely well-placed light objects. The eyes are just Emission in the Principled BSDF node maxed out (if they’re using Blender).

Specular or Metallic settings in the Principled BSDF in Blender can do this.

That’s a normal map and node.

In summary, regardless of what software the artist used to make this (very well composed) render, all of these effects can be achieved with nodes and lighting in Blender.

Read up on in and do a few tutorials - I will mention that the Roblox dev forum isn’t really the best place to ask for Blender specific questions, and you’d be better off going to the forums of whatever software you’re using for more insight.