How do I export a blender model with colour?

You can write your topic however you want, but you need to answer these questions:

1. What do you want to achieve?
    I have made a treasure chest in blender and I’d like to export it into Roblox with the same colours

2. What is the issue?
    I am a beginner at Blender and I have no idea how to keep the colour on the model. I don’t want to export different parts of the model and colour them separately in Roblox as it’s too complicated.
    This is what it looks like in studio:

3. What solutions have you tried so far?
    I have looked on the Dev Forum, but none of the solutions worked for me. The main thing people said was to export the parts separately. I have also tried exporting it as an obj and fbx file.

Sorry if this is really obvious, I am really bad at using Blender :joy: Thank you for any help.

2 Likes

You cannot directly export colors onto Roblox from what I have found so if you wish to put color on an object you can either use UV mapping or change the Brick color of separate parts of the chest. Since you don’t wish to separately export different parts you would need to use UV mapping which is essentially making a blueprint of the mesh and coloring it in. I’m not very good at UV mapping so I cannot provide you with help in that but once you do manage to color in a UV map it can be imported into a meshpart under the TextureID property.

In regards to exporting separate parts, it is quite a simple process. All you need to do is select the parts you wish to export in blender and import them separately and align them in game by moving them.

Here is a tutorial:

How to export parts separately

First, select the first part you wish to export in object mode.

Next, select ‘file’ and then go to export as I am aware you already know how to do. For this example I will use an obj. File so select that.

You then want to select your location to save and make sure selection only box is checked.