How do i make a flying script?

So im trying to make a flying system for my game, but i have absolutley no idea how. So what im trying to achieve is when you hold p you will fly upwards. Here is my attempt so far.

local p = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local bo = game:GetService(“UserInputService”)
local hrp = p.Character:WaitForChild(“HumanoidRootPart”)
local t = function()
game.Players:WaitForChild(“Humanoid”).Character.CFrame = CFrame.new(0,10,0)
end

bo.InputBegan:Connect(function(input, gameProcessedEvent)
if input.UserInputType == Enum.UserInputType.Keyboard then
if input.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.P then
function t()
end
end
end
end)

I know it is very illogical and stuff, but im a beginner. Also i would need everyone it to be on the server. By the way i will be using a ramiel morph that i made and i believe that will interfere with it. Any help?

2 Likes

This wouldnt work the way you want it to. When you click P it will just teleport you a bit upwards and fall down beacause t() is only called everytime you press P not every frame while holding P. I suggest you watch a Youtube tutorial on how to do it properly. It will save you so much time.

@supergeorge2007’s post explains the problem, the solution is turning the P key into a flag that enables and disables when you press and release P, and then fly every renderstepped depending on if the P flag is true or false. Also I suggest you use space instead and also reset the player’s velocity when going up.

Edit: ok a big problem is that you need to do game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character:WaitForChild("HumanoidRootPart").CFrame *= CFrame.new(Vector3.new(0, 10, 0)) and not game.Players:WaitForChild(“Humanoid”).Character.CFrame = CFrame.new(0,10,0).

Fixed code:

local Player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local UIS = game:GetService("UserInputService")
Player.CharacterAdded:Wait()
local hrp = Player.Character:WaitForChild("HumanoidRootPart")
local RunService = game:GetService("RunService")
local KeyFlags = {
P = false
}