How Do I Make Keybind Animations?

Hey everyone! I’m new to Roblox scripting & I was wondering if you could help me with some code.

I’m working on a game with some friends & I want to code some Keybind Animations. For example, if you press ‘f’ then a punching animation plays only once & then ends.

I’ve tried looking at some videos on YouTube for some ideas on how to code but every tutorial seem outdated.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

2 Likes

Hey there, Ryann. First off you need UserInputService. I’ll attatch the code that I did:

local UserInputService = game:GetService(“UserInputService”)

UserInputService.InputBegan:Connect(function(input)
if input.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.F then
animation:Play()
end
end

2 Likes

Let me know if you need help declaring where your animations should be. Make sure your animation priorities are set to either action or idle depending on the animation.

1 Like

I’m completely new to coding so I have no idea what to do. Do I need to make a local script in StarterPlayer or something? I have my animations done I just need to code them.

Yes, so here:

You put a local script inside of StarterCharacterScripts, and to declare your animation,

local UserInputService = game:GetService(“UserInputService”)
local debounce = true
local character = script.Parent
local humanoid = character:WaitForChild(“Humanoid”)
local animator = humanoid:FindFirstChild(“Animator”)
local animation1 = Instance.new(“Animation”)
animation1.AnimationId = “rbxassetid://6401325016” --Insert your ID
local animationTrack1 = animator:LoadAnimation(animation1)

if input.KeyCode == Enum.KeyCode.F then
if debounce then
debounce = false
animationTrack1:Play()
wait(animationLength)
debounce = true
end
end

2 Likes

Is it supposed to look like this? Also it doesn’t work. image

I updated my code. Also, for animationLength, put like 1 for now. Other than that, if you copy my new code, and make sure you put your animationId in, then it should work.

1 Like