How do I make tank projectiles?

Hello, I’m trying to make a tank game, currently I want to make the tank shoot shells when the player clicks a button on their keyboard (something like Space). I’ve never worked with projectiles before, so I wanted to ask, what’s best to use in this situation (Tweening, BodyVelocity etc.), and maybe some code examples on it? Here’s a video of what I’ve got so far: https://gyazo.com/83f048b8f6ae5ff908bc16ef9e3bb454

3 Likes

You have a few choices for this: first of all, you could make a shell in the serverstorage and clone it to the barrel of the tank and then give it a bodyvelocity fore example. You could also just use Instance.New() to make a new shell inside the script, but in my opinion that’s a bit harder. I also suggest scavenging the depths of google and youtube.

2 Likes

Okay, thank you, I’ll try my best :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

BodyVelocity requires shuffling network ownership in order to not appear laggy from the player’s side, I’d suggest using FastCast if you could get around to it

(I’m willing to open source the game shown in the video if you need it)

If you manage network replication property you can have secure and very nice-looking bullets with stuff such as ricochets or wall penetration

the actual details is just firing an invisible shot with the server for hit registration and telling clients to replicate it with a RemoteEvent, something which doesn’t really work because of physics inconsistencies with physics based methods

You could also just use hitscan for hitreg and add tracer projectile effects, some games tend to do this for the sake of simplicity

10 Likes

Sorry for late reply