How do I take an existing CFrame and flip one of its axes?

So, I’m constructing a functional mirror in my game. I’ve almost got it working. One problem:

The limbs appear in the correct position, however, the parts in the reflection model retain the same CFrame as the parts in the player model.
How would I fix this? I am not very good at working with CFrame.

Here is my current code.

local mirror = workspace.MirrorA
local reflection = workspace.PlayerReflectionA
--Mirror reflection
while true do
	wait()
	local mirrorCFrame = mirror.CFrame
	for _, reflPart in pairs(reflection:GetChildren()) do
		local charPart = char:FindFirstChild(reflPart.Name)
		if charPart then
			local charPartMirrorDifferential = Vector3.new(-(charPart.CFrame.X - mirrorCFrame.X), charPart.CFrame.Y - mirrorCFrame.Y, charPart.CFrame.Z - mirrorCFrame.Z)
			local reflCFrame = mirrorCFrame + charPartMirrorDifferential
			local charCFrame = charPart.CFrame
			reflPart.CFrame = CFrame.new(reflCFrame.X, reflCFrame.Y, reflCFrame.Z) * CFrame.Angles(charPart.CFrame:toEulerAnglesXYZ())	
		end
	end
end
7 Likes

I don’t know if this will work or not but you can try i guess

(plr cframe thing) + CFrame.new(plrcframething/2, 0, 0)

changing some stuff would probably make it look better, if that didnt work try changing it to -plrcframething/2

not 100% sure this will work but its worth a shot i guess.

This would change position. I am looking to change orientation.

1 Like

Oh. sorry about that but i think Vector3.new would work fine with this, i don’t think it will work with CFrame, not 100% sure about it

Don’t ever use wait(), it’s notorious for being unreliable

#2: a while loop with wait() isnt the smoothest way to do this, use Heartbeat or RenderStepped because they fire every frame. RenderStepped is for things that need immediate feedback like camera manipulation, but I think Heartbeat would work fine with this