How do you apply custom animations to your custom character?

How do you make custom animations work with your custom character? I’m new to scripting and all that, but this is something that has me really stuck…I mean for weeks…lol . Any videos I’ve followed doesn’t quite work right in the end. I really need a step by step on how to apply custom animations and apply more then just one animation like swimming, walking, running, idle, idle swim…etc. I really want to know how to apply all new custom animations for my character basically from scratch. I at one point was able to make one animation of my animations work by following a video but it would only play that one and the other one wouldn’t play at all. Any help is very appreciated!

11 Likes

Have you welded your character properly or at all? I was trying to this for weeks too but in the ended I had not welded my character correct. Just realized there is a video showing how to weld, make and animate a custom character. He animates at the end here is the link CUSTOM CHARACTERS - How to create, rig and animate - YouTube

1 Like

That’s actually the exact video I used when I first created my character and I followed what he did so I think the welding should be ok

2 Likes

I’m re watching that video and he says in it that welds are for things you don’t want to animate(6:42 of the video)

2 Likes

Add a local script into StarterPlayer > StarterCharacterScripts
Add an Animation into the local script and re-name it “Walk”
paste this into the local script

-- Very basic walking animation script by GnomeCode
local character = script.Parent
local humanoid = character:WaitForChild("Humanoid")

-- Remeber to select the animtion object and set the id to your own!
local walkAnim = script:WaitForChild("Walk")
local walkAnimTrack = humanoid.Animator:LoadAnimation(walkAnim)

humanoid.Running:Connect(function(speed)
	if speed > 0 then
		if not walkAnimTrack.IsPlaying then
			walkAnimTrack:Play()
		end
	else