How does plugins that has code editors in them work?

Some plugins have “code editors” in them similar to Roblox’s command bar. How do these plugins actually work? Does it take every single word and then some algorithm tries to piece everything together? I’m trying to make something similar myself.

1 Like

Uhm, I don’t 100% get your question, however I’ll try my best. Code editors usually execute code. Simple. Also, in the developer console there is a server side code executor. (only for owners/developers). Honestly, I’m not really a professinal at it, but I believe code editors takes the text from the code text area(wherever that is), then use LogService to add execute it onto the server. Although I’m not 1000%, as I’m not a professinal, that’s the best answer I could probably give about it.

class api refrence: Log Service

No, what I was wondering was how a Roblox plugin can compile text in a textbox and use it to perform an action.

Yes, you can take advantage of LogService by using it. That’s how you do it. It compiles text in a textbox and runs it using LogService. Like I said I’m not experienced with creating anything of the sort. But, I believe they use LogService.MessageOut ( please correct me if I’m wrong like I said ), and then it executes to the server.

Isn’t that used for checking the output?

I doubt that plugins are allowed any functionality that could emulate the command bar, so I’d guess that they’re interpreting Lua, with Lua!

There used to be some plugins/models that did this, but I can’t find them now.

The scale of how plugins work are almost never implemented in luau, and are created in the latest version of lua. Knowing this, I believe the main way to do this is by using a third party file to execute code.

It is exactly like the command bar, check out “In Command”.

Read above, my assumption is they recreated the command bar.

So they imported a software that was written in Lua? :thinking: I don’t really understand