How is OOP used in actual game logic?

Hello!

I am fairly new to OOP and I have created a Player module which fits only my game. I will write a sample of what I have as I have no intention of releasing it to public.

Main Class Sample
local Player = {}
Player.__index = Player

function Player:new()
  local NewPlayer = {}
  setmetatable(NewPlayer, Player)
  NewPlayer.Health = 100
  NewPlayer.Race = "Human"
  NewPlayer.NickName = "Nickname"
  return NewPlayer
end
return Player

I also have some sub classes of Player like: Certain Characters, let’s take a random character as I am not spoiling my creation :wink:

Sub Class Pewdiepie
local Pewds = {}
local Player = require(script.Parent)
Pewds.__index = Pewds
setmetatable(Pewds, Player)

function Pewds:new()
local NewPewds = Player:new()
NewPewds.Name = "Pewdiepie"
NewPewds.Health = 500
NewPewds.NickName = "Pewds"
NewPewds.Race = "Epic Human"
end
return Pewds

So, I have all of this subclasses of my desired races, yet, I have no idea how to integrate this with the default player object.
Simply, I do not know how to give these attributes to the player object himself, thus making these classes look not so useful to me.
Is there a way to give the , for example, Pewds race to a player once he joins. And if there is, is it done in client or the server? If it is done from both, do I have to create multiple of these objects externally?
I am sorry these questions sound so unclear, at least to me, since I am so new to OOP i have no idea how it’s done properly.

3 Likes