How to make exploit-proof client lighting change?

Hi everybody, I’m currently making an ability that create a gas area and cause anyone within the gas area to have blurred vision. Everything were scripted very easily like checking distance in server then fire RE to client. Although changing lighting in the client technically works but I suddenly realised that there will be a problem due to the fact that changing “Lighting” in the client will cause open vulnerabilities like exploiters can just change the local script so that the blur doesn’t affect them at all. I have limited knowledge on scripting and I can’t wrap my head around how I can blur the players inside the gas area but also stop the players within the gas area from exploiting their way from the blur. Thanks for your time.

Conclusion: Doesn’t seem possible

4 Likes

What if you created the effects on the server and delete it on the client. Definitely more performant though. Also I’m not even sure if this works. I don’t know how exploits work. :joy:

Also getfenv() to hide it.

Also I’m wrong.

2 Likes

Well if I’m honest just create those effects on client. Exploits are way more powerful than you think, they can change anything on their client including lightning. They can do whatever you can do as a player in studio playtest and even beyond, like firing all touch interests and click detectors, or even messing with remotes etc.

So there’s basically no way to prevent them stopping the blur.

1 Like

How can that even work??? If you destroy Blur in the client, it can’t be access by the client therefore the effect cannot be replicated in the player’s screen.

2 Likes

What you could do is a region3 type of parameter, if they are in the radius of being gassed, then their blur should equal x amount, and if it is not x amount then player:Kick()

1 Like