How to make Pseudotools (UPDATED)

Hello! This is my second pseudotool tutorial, because since that last tutorial, I’ve noticed some flaws cough cough server security. This is an updated version that should have better server security! With images this time woo hoo!

0.1 Requirements

1. Setup
Firstly, get some folders in ReplicatedStorage, we will need these.

Now, you are going to want to grab a weapon, or build one. I’m going to use a sword as an example. I’m a horrible builder, so I got one from the toolbox

Screen Shot 2023-02-08 at 7.08.11 PM

Alright, we’re going to do a few things with. Unanchor all parts of the model, and set CanCollide to false, Name a random part to handle, and set the model’s PrimaryPart to the handle.

Now, time for some welding!
Weld all parts of the model to the handle, and for moving parts, Motor6D them together. Then, throw the model into ReplicatedStorage > weapons

1.1 Inputs
Ok, for the inputs, we will be using ContextActionService, as its easy to implement mobile support with it. Insert a LocalScript into StarterPlayer > StarterCharacterScripts.

Also add a 3 RemoteFunctions called “new”, “equip”, and “unequip” into ReplicatedStorage > events

Screen Shot 2023-02-08 at 7.32.05 PM

Let’s get the inputHandler coded.

--Note, this is StarterPlayer > StarterCharacterScripts

local ContextActionService = game:GetService("ContextActionService")
local handler = require(game.ReplicatedStorage.modules.psuedotool) -- module will be coded soon

local weps = game.ReplicatedStorage.events.new:InvokeServer()

local weapon = handler.new(weps)

local enumBinds = { -- enum bind table to loop through to set up contextactionservice
	[1] = Enum.KeyCode.One,
	[2] = Enum.KeyCode.Two,
	[3] = Enum.KeyCode.Three -- Add more for more weps equippable!
}

local lastInput = nil
local cooldown = 0.5 -- cooldown for weapon spam
local cooling = false

local function equip(actionName, inputState)