How to obtain gamefeel

Gamefeel is the assembly of sounds and visuals that create the amosphere ur game targets and transmits the emotion to the player. It is an important feeling in videogames, especially in horror ones.
Here is an example:

This is a 2 seconds sound, yet, u already feel a bit uncomfortable.

If u want to achieve great gamefeel u will need: Logic, Atmosphere and Psychology.

Logic:
Here are 2 sounds that represent a blaster firing. U will have to turn the volume up for the 2nd one.

Which one is better according to logic?

• First one
  • Second one

0 voters

Believe me or not, but the second one is better. The reason why it is better is because a real laser would move too fast for u to hear it being fired and the pitch that decreases is it getting farther.

Atmosphere:
I’m a Composer/Sfx designer, I think a builder would be better to explain this part. The point is that the atmosphere the player is set in influences the gamefeel by displaying the secenery, sounds and the style of the videogame. A very popular trick that uses the notion of gamefeel is setting a light source in a dark area to attract the attention of the player.
Here is a question for u: Imagine a manor, every room and corridor is well illuminated, outside is night and there are no sounds, except ur footsteps and the doors u open. What is the feeling someone would get if he was in that manor?

• Eerie feeling
  • Tensioned feeling
  • Neutral feeling

0 voters

The correct answer is “Eerie feeling”. The slight difference is that eerie implies a feeling of fright and being afraid by something that has yet to be found, tensioned is when u have a reason to be tensioned. It cannot be Neutral feeling because I doubt anyone walks in a seamingly abandoned mansion that is well maintaned and thinks that this is normal.

Psychology:
If u want to influence the feeling u should always reffer to sounds. Music and sounds can influence how somebody thinks (Fact check this).
Remeber this sound?