How to prove account ownership and IP to parties outside of Roblox?

Not too sure if this is the correct forum category for this question, so if I need to move the post please tell me.

As roblox confirmed a while ago, when creating a game on roblox, it automatically becomes your Intellectual Property (IP). Although not very clear, this is also said in the Terms Of Use.

But what I’m wondering is: how do developers proof to third parties that they own an account and therefore the IP on it? For example to pay the correct taxes on DevEx in my country, I need to provide proof that I own the roblox games/groups/account that earned the money.
As far as I know Roblox does not provide us with any documents or anything to proof ownership of an account or game. So how could I proof this annyways? (considering the tax companies don’t know exactly how roblox works and need verified and official sources)

Legal disclaimer to be 100% safe

This is not legal advice, and I am not a lawyer. Please seek professional advice. Any of the statements or comments made above should be regarded as personal and not necessarily those my past; current or future employers, along with any constituent part or connected body.

Proof of ownership comes down to the Developer/Studio. Roblox doesn’t take ownership of what you make on the platform so if you need to prove you have the IP to an asset etc it is down to you to prove that.

Now how do you prove/get proof you own your assets?:
Take photos and date them and correctly store them in a folder that can be accessed later as you work.
Email your asset to yourself as another way to prove date/time etc.
Save any draft of your work or any changes to work as proof you edited them as well.

It really comes down to country as well. Seek legal advice for the area you live in I’m no legal expert but I have an idea of what my country allowes etc.

1 Like

You already answered your question: