How to start scripting

Hi! I wanna know how everyone got into scripting and got really experienced with it! I’ve been wanting to make a game since I was 10 and since then, I never found out how to code, or to work well around the ROBLOX studio app. I only know how to animate and build. I just wanna know, what experiences and challenges did pro scripters have to go through? And if you can, recommend things I can do to get better at scripting? Please if any experienced scripters are reading this, please reply!!

66 Likes

I took the best solution and played around with Lua until my script worked. Experiment and play with the language, and compared to other programming languages Lua is incredibly easy. Just another tip, don’t watch too many tutorials. Another thing that works is to look at already existing code, learn how it works, and branch from that to create your own code.

33 Likes

Technically, I’m not a pro anything, but I’ve learnt my fair share of Roblox Studio.

21 Likes

Noted! Its just really hard to find a place to start

16 Likes

I would start with moving parts, blocks, and making basic but functional code. Doors, lights, and other basic interactable objects that aren’t too hard. As you learn and improve, remake these same models over time but make them more polished and clean. Of course there are many more ways to start, but it sounds like a good way to rethink everything once in a while.

16 Likes

Alright! I’ll try that later! Its really late but I just wanted to know something before I go to bed so I can learn tomorrow, I wanna see other scripters feedback as well. Thank you!

9 Likes

It’s 3:00 AM for me right now, and good luck!

11 Likes

As rough as it sounds, you just have to try and create things. Programming is problem solving. Recognize patterns and solutions will be remembered for the future. Get a good grasp on the fundamentals of programming.