How to write a good story, with good characters

Hi! Welcome to How to write a good story, with good characters. This article will teach you the very essentials of storywriting (especially in ROBLOX story-based games) that allow the player to get emotionally attached to the character.

Disclaimer

I have yet to try these methods out, as I’ve learned them from my sometimes-but-not-sometimes wise brother, who taught me such methods.

TL;DR: I am not a professional, and I’m simply re-stating the methods I’ve learned from my brother

If you’re too lazy to read all of this, then feel free to unblur the spoiler for the TL;DR

Make characters believable, don’t make your plot too repeptitive, spice up things a bit, avoid cliches and make the bad guy have some reason to exist. Also don’t forget to make character arcs, which are just explaining their backstory and their motivations

Plot

A plot is an essential part of a story, and this section will (attempt) to teach you about it.

Build the lore

The lore of a plot is extremely important, as it allows the player to feel immersed in a tale. There are a few important steps to remember

• Make it believable! Don’t just write crazy stuff about dragons and guns and shark-lasers and… well, you get the point. It’s fine if it’s set in some sci-fi time, or in the steampunk, just don’t make the player overwhelmed by the lore.
  • Think about its setting! What time does it take place in? Is this an alternate universe of ours? Do humans exist? Take a moment to think about it
  • Find any plot holes! Take some time to proof-read your lore, and find any plot holes. FYI, a plot hole is when the plot/lore doesn’t make sense, and it’s kinda like those “why couldn’t they just…” situations
  • I highly recommend you do the lore first, so that when you design your characters, it can fit right into your setting

Creating the plot