How would I change the player's velocity based on the slope of the floor

Essentially what I want to accomplish is to make the player automatically slide down any slope, and change the speed of the Body based on the steepness.

I honestly have no way to go about this, and I’m struggling to discover the functions and properties required to do this. I assume you would first calculate the normal of the floor via raycasting to see if it’s a slope or not so I already did that, but making them slide down anything that’s a slope is hard for me to imagine. Just for some background information, I started coding super recently so I’ve never used normals or BodyVelocity before.

Also I’m not super sure about what normals even are, but I know that they’re used for seeing if a surface is straight or not. Some explanation about normals would also be a great help.

Here’s a short explanation about normals. The normal of a vector is a vector that is perpendicular to that vector (there’s a 90 degree angle between their directions). The normal of a surface is a vector that is perpendicular to the lines that connect the vertices of that surface.

I believe you could calculate the velocity this way. If my calculations are correct, the resulting vector should be a normal of the surface normal. The normal in the variable names is the surface normal.

local MAX_SPEED = 10

local function getSlideVelocity(normal)

local normalX, normalY, normalZ = normal.X,  normal.Y, normal.Z

local normalHorizontalLength = math.sqrt(normalX^2+normalZ^2)
    if normalHorizontalLength < 1e-5 then
        return Vector3.new()
    end

local dirX = normalX/normalHorizontalLength*normalY
    local dirZ = normalZ/normalHorizontalLength*normalY
    local dirY = -normalHorizontalLength

local dir = Vector3.new(dirX, dirY, dirZ)
    local angle = math.atan2(dirY, normalY)
    return dir*(math.sin(-angle)*MAX_SPEED)
end

What about Humanoid.MaxSlopeAngle ?