How would I do this?

Hello, I’m an aspiring ROBLOX Developer who wants to become one of the best. I’m making a game cald Elements, which is a game about the scientific elements that can be produced in the world.

I’m wondering how I should make it so that the player can use their mouse to set up “Regions”. Regions are going to be a feature in the game where a player can drag their mouse across the baseplate and make a new area in which certain elements form.

How should I make the base of this?

Visualization of a Region in The Game

3 Likes

Do you want to create a box selection similar to in an RTS game? If that is the case you can use UserInputService to get the players 3D mouse position when they click, and then again when they release. This will always form a rectangular region as long as you limit it to being along one plane (such as the baseplate surface)

2 Likes

I’m a bit confused here, so are you saying I should get the players mouse, and whenever they click, it will make a rectangular region?

2 Likes

You can use UserInputService to detect the player’s mouse going down, & where it went up. You can save a value for the location from which the mouse clicks occured, & can use that to do the math on how to draw a rectangle from it & make your zone.

Once you have the loations where the player started clicking, & stopped clicking, you can get the difference in the X and Z axis, & use it to draw a rectangle.

1 Like

Two points is not enough to define a region, so you need to have more limits on how a region can be placed. Is it a 2D selection or a 3D box?

1 Like

I’m going to be using a baseplate for the elements positions, so I will be only be using the X and Y axis.

1 Like

How would I know if the player actually made a rectangle or not and how would I get the 4 positional directions of the players mouse to make a perfect square?

I’m not sure but I Think the equation would be something like this:

StartPos = (Mouse click start position)