How would I go about a custom health system?

Hi, I’m looking to make a health system similar to ones in games like Super Mario Galaxy, A Hat in Time, etc., but I have little experience in scripting and have no idea where to start.

Here’s basically what I think I need to do:

I need the script to identify how much health the player has through humanoid.health.
If the player has full health, display the image that shows full health. If 75%, show image for 75, etc

Here's what the gui looks like

health1 health2 health3 health4

these are temporary

How would I go about this? Where should I start?

1 Like

Start with a server script and assign each player a health value.

local Health = {}
-- then when a player joins:
Health[Player.Name] = {Health = 4} -- default value
-- when a player takes damage
Health[Player.Name].Health = Health[Player.Name].Health -1
 -- do a check to see if the player should be dead
 --Send to client with a number so that you can update their UI accordingly.

And pretty much just build on this system.

3 Likes

I’d probably do something similar to @MineDevs however I’d keep a Health IntValue inside a Stats Folder in the player.

It just makes things much easier to work with, rather than having to Fire a bindable/remote to a script to get a value.

1 Like

Much nicer method, I only started doing my server only method because I noticed giving exploiters too much information about other players can result in bad things.

For example: Exploiter does a loop and checks who is on 1 health and instantly teleports and kills them. Just an example.

Make your decision based on this.

3 Likes

whats stopping the exploiter from just doing Character.Humanoid.Health <= 1

I don’t think you read this post right. They were talking about Intvalues, and tables to store health, Not actully health in a humanoid. And that these values would be stored in the server, and not the client, making them slightly harder for exploiters, (Not impossible, just harder).