How would I make a player's arm rotate based on their camera CFrame?

1. What do you want to achieve? Keep it simple and clear!

I want the player’s arms to rotate up and down based on the camera CFrame using Motor6Ds. This is specifically, for a first person flashlight.

1. What is the issue? Include screenshots / videos if possible!

The issue is that I’m not very experienced in CFrame’s and Motor6D’s. I’m not sure where to start.

1. What solutions have you tried so far? Did you look for solutions on the Developer Hub?

I’ve looked on the Developer hub and I’ve found some similar things, but they don’t seem to exactly match up with what I want. I’ve tried to study Motor6D’s and do this, but my solutions were unsuccessful.

Can anybody give me some directions?

7 Likes

I do not recommend using motor6Ds, for rotating parts, you should use CFrame

assuming you have forced first person:

try this - local script in startercharacterscripts

local player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local camera = workspace.CurrentCamera
local cframe = camera.CFrame
local character = player.Character or player.CharacterAdded:Wait()

while task.wait() do
cframe = camera.CFrame
character.RightUpperArm.CFrame = CFrame.fromOrientation(cframe.X, cframe.Y, cframe.Z)
end

i dont have my pc rn so cannot test so might not work as intended

6 Likes

Hi there.
I tested your script so that it might have worked.

while task.wait() do
cframe = camera.CFrame
character.RightUpperArm.CFrame = CFrame.fromOrientation(cframe.X, cframe.Y, cframe.Z)
end

3rd Person:

1st Person:

Seizure warning:
robloxapp-20230806-2356127.wmv (2.1 MB)]

I don’t know why both modes give ya seizures. I made them spoilers so you don’t get seizures right away

Thanks for understanding.

I forgot they are downloads, don’t download them without checking first

4 Likes

for some reason my device wont allow me to open those files :confused:
could you do it in a drive and send link instead

1 Like