HTTP Service with Amazon Lightsail

I made an in-game group system where players can create groups, invite other players, kick other players, create roles within their group, assign roles, etc. I was storing this all under a datastore, but I decided to store it using HTTP Service. I have no experience with web development and I haven’t found much online about how to setup the back end stuff.

I have a lightsail server and setup a database. I accessed it with MySQL using the username, password, and endpoint. I’m just very confused on how I actually access this from ROBLOX.

I wasn’t able to find any tutorials on what programming needs to be done on the database. Any help on this topic is appreciated.

1 Like

Why not use Roblox datastores or datastore 2 ?

If you really want to use SQL you could send an HTTP GET request to your website using HttpService. https://developer.roblox.com/en-us/api-reference/class/HttpService

DataStores are fairly limited in their capability. Notice that OP switched from them to a custom solution. Suggesting to change back isn’t really the brightest choice.

1 Like

I understand the actual HTTP service on roblox, I’m confused about the server and what programming needs to be done there to communicate with roblox.

Oh, just remembered you had no web experience.

You could use the httpservice JSON Encode function on a dictionary then use a HTTP post request to your lightsail website thing. I don’t really know what light sail is, so I can’t help you too much outside of roblox.

If you server supports .php files, you would need a couple of them:
Note in the php files, comments I add for comprehension will be marked with <-, so delete them before using or this won’t work

This one would be for adding data to the table
$servername = "localhost";
$username = "sqldatabaseusername";
$password = "sqldatabasepassword";
$dbname = "sqldatabasename"; <- This and the 3 lines above it are all the credentials for your SQL database