I need help making Night cycle light script

I’m trying to make a Night cycle script that changes parts properties if timeclock is beginning to turn night. This will be useful for Street lights, or giving life to buildings in the city at night.

Example:

I’ve tried to do the same thing using the basic night cycle script on youtube using a local script however, my script isnt working. The part does change its property to neon material at night but, not to the color i’m telling it. It stays at an institutional white instead of yellow
https://gyazo.com/96eba1f5829c451a331e2fd9e4d82314

I’m very new to scripting and i’m trying to attempt to change an individual parts color in hopes of being able to duplicate the part and change the color for different buildings and assets, but this is very confusing, my output isnt telling me that the script is breaking or anything, Help!!!

3 Likes

In order for us to help you, you need to show your current code

I’d say instead of changing the lights and time of day with one script for each part (If you want) have a script that checks time of day and edits the accordingly and this script is just an example of what i would do

local NightStart == 00:00:00 -- Change this to when night to start
local NightEnd = 00:00:00 -- Change this to when night would end
local DayStart == 00:00:00 -- Change this to when day to start
local DayEnd = 00:00:00 -- Change this to when day would end
while true do
if game.Lighting.TimeOfDay <= NightStart and game.Lighting.TimeOfDay <= NightEnd then
script.Parent.Material = Enum.MaterialType.Neon -- This may be wrong as im typing this on the dev forum not studio
script.Parent.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("New Yeller") -- This may be wrong as im typing this on the dev forum not studio
elseif game.Lighting.TimeOfDay <= DayStart and game.Lighting.TimeOfDay <= DayEnd then
script.Parent.Material = Enum.MaterialType.SmoothPlastic -- This may be wrong as im typing this on the dev forum not studio