I really need help with this

I’ve been trying to fix this problem for almost 3 days straight and cant figure out I can fix it…
I’m a developer who started coding recently, and Im trying to make a pet simulator-like game but just with different characters. Right now I am trying to make the door which you buy to get to the next world, but i am having trouble with the pop up gui that says “Buy this place” I already made the gui for it and trying to make the code for it but the gui wont pop up when i press the proximity prompt on the door

this is the video of me showing the code i used to make the proximity promp make the gui pop up, please tell me if it doesnt work
(im really sorry if this is in the wrong topic)

3 Likes

another note is that im following the new how to make a pet simulator x game by polarisprog, im on part 2 of his guide

2 Likes

Hello, ‘button’ can mean different things in different contexts. It could be a ProximityPrompt, a simple TextButton, or a response to touch. It all depends on how you want to implement user interaction in your project.

2 Likes

I want the player to touch the button then see the gui to buy the door then get to the next area, just like in pet simulator

1 Like

I apologize, I might have misunderstood a bit. If the button is created using ProximityPrompt, you can add a server script to it that will send a signal via RemoteEvent to open the GUI for purchasing a location. Alternatively, you can completely bind the button using a local script (which is more complex for beginners). If you choose to use a server script, it would look something like this:

script.Parent.Triggered:Connect(function(Player)
	Event:FireClient(Player)
end)
1 Like

If it’s a TextButton, you need to create the following in a local script:

Local Button = game.workspace.Folder.GUI.TextButton

After that, attach it to the mouse click event:

Button.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
--Code
1 Like